A3 – ARTISTS CONT.

After listening to Huhana Smith I went back and looked through her artworks which happened to give me some inspiration for my own final piece. Her ‘Rae Ki Te Rae/ face to face’ exhibition Shows a series of paintings that reflect both her research and thoughts when working on her ‘Enhancing Coastal Ecosystems for Iwi’ research project.

Screen Shot 2017-06-06 at 12.05.19 PM

I like the idea of using a number of images that build up to a bigger idea/picture once they are put together. What stands out to me the most when looking at Huhana’s work is her use of colour. The striking greens automatically make you think of the environment/earth so you can tell what her work is based off.

Screen Shot 2017-06-06 at 12.03.22 PM

When I look at this image I think of the relationship between humans and the environment, and the interactions between the two. I found this connection by looking at the street lights and noticing that while the trees may be native, it looks like they’re trapped in a park of some sort.

These two images would have to be my favourite. I love the patterns she’s created with the different tones of green. It reminds me of murky water that you definitely wouldn’t want to go into. The swirls of green could also represent the leaching of nitrate and other nutrients that enter our waterways.

I want to take this idea further in my work, and try communicate that agricultural practises can have a negative effect on our freshwater.

Another artist I found was Vibha Galhorta who works with short films/videos. One film in particular (Manthan) focusses on the ganges river which flows through India and Bangladesh. The Ganges is severely polluted by both human waste and industrial contaminants, making it the 5th most polluted river in the world. Throughout the film it shows what surrounds the river such as the industrial sites and where the pollution comes from.

The images above are screenshots I’ve taken while watching the video I wanted to capture the amount of pollution that’s in this river and the state of the water, which is also what I want to look at for my final piece of work. Especially the different patterns and swirls that you see in the images.

 

MY WORK:

 

Images taken around wellington + Lyall Bay area:

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

